At the beginning of the 18th century, Karim Khan ordered the construction of a palace and government office in Tehran, perhaps to show that Tehran was the capital, but later moved the government office to Shiraz. In 1796, Aga Muhammad Khan, the king of the Qajar dynasty, became king, and Tehran became the capital until now.

In the 1920s and 1930s, Tehran was built almost from scratch under the rule of Iran’s Shah Reza Khan. Reza Khan believed that ancient buildings such as the Gulestan Palace, Tobukhaneh, castles and fortresses did not conform to the city. The modernization of these buildings has been systematically destroyed, such as the establishment of modern Iranian buildings such as the National Bank, the police headquarters, the telegraph office, and the military academy.

The indoor market was divided into two, and some monuments were demolished to build a wide straight avenue. Many Persian gardens have been included in the reconstruction project.